Sarah Palin

I’ll admit I’m a bit cynical about McCain’s VP choice.  My initial thought was that she was the “token woman” on the ticket.  She’s there so that the Republicans won’t be the “old white dudes” once again.  The Democrats have Obama.  He’s fresh.  He’s a relative newcomer.  He’s not a white man.  The Republicans, not wanting to be outdone, chose their own fresh-faced newcomer.  She’s not a white man.  And it doesn’t hurt that she’s beautiful either.

What amuses me about the Palin choice is how quickly it backfired.  Her conservative stance was intended to appease the far right.  As the various reports leak out showing that she’s not quite as “squeaky clean” as the Republican party had hoped, the very people she was supposed to draw in will be the ones who struggle the most to separate her private life from her public office.

I find the political process to be fascinating.  Unfortunately, I can’t seem to get myself interested in this election.  I’m sure all 4 of the Pres & VP candidates are wonderful people.  But right now none of them are dazzling me.  I find myself hoping a strong independent candidate will step up soon.

~ by NinjaPrincess on September 3, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
