Why run?

I have a theory that people who run fall into three categories:

1.  I run because I ate.

2.  I run so that I can eat.

3.  I run because I’m insane.

I have the utmost admiration for the first group.  It is composed of people who are unhappy with their weight and are taking their health into their own hands.  I find that to be awesome.

The second group, which happens to be the one I fall into, is a group that really, really, really likes food.  We are willing to torture ourselves with exercise so that we may eat in a somewhat unhealthy manner.  For example, I have now run three times in the past week.  Therefore, tonight I ate a ridiculously large gyro, some fries, and an oreo milkshake that contained at least 6 oreos (no exaggeration).  Gross.

The third group absolutely baffles me.  They like to run.  What??  I once worked with a woman who was lamenting the fact that her doctor told her she was running too much.  SHE LAMENTED IT.  Holy cow. 

What scares me is that from what I’ve read, people in groups one and two can actually morph into a group 3 person.

Oh please no.

~ by NinjaPrincess on September 9, 2008.

2 Responses to “Why run?”

  1. I eat cause I don’t like to run . . . or walk . . . or bend at the waist . . .

  2. You are so right with this post and I am with you in category two. Though sometimes I do find I enjoy so perhaps the morph is occurring. Though my favorite part of the run is when I am done, b/c I feel so proud of myself. I trained this summer and ran a 10 mile race. I am set to do a 1/2 marathon in 3 weeks…problem is I haven’t ran since my 10 mile run on the 24th of August (and YES I have eaten, LOTS, since then) so I know that I gotta my butt out there and run some more. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
