Second Guessing My Diagnostic Abilities

Our eldest has been suffering from a fever, sore throat, cough, and general tiredness.  While I’d normally just make him tough this out, we were a bit concerned, because these are the same symptoms my husband exhibited when he came down with pneumonia over Christmas.  Out of curiosity, I listened to his chest to see if I could hear the same “squeak” that I could hear from my husband’s lungs when he was sick.  While I didn’t hear the same high-pitched squeak, I did hear a lower one.  I called the nurse, explained what was happening, and she said they definitely want to see him today.

Ten minutes later, I listened to his chest again, and the squeak was gone.  Not looking forward to walking in to the office and saying, “Um…hi!  Yeah…uh….he HAD a squeak.  Really, he did!”

It’ll be just like the time when he was five months old and aspirated some spit-up.  He started going rigid and would stop breathing for a few seconds, so we called 911.  By the time we got to the hospital, he was fine again.  The ER doctor looked him over and then said, “You are first-time parents, yes?”  D’oh!

~ by NinjaPrincess on February 1, 2010.

3 Responses to “Second Guessing My Diagnostic Abilities”

  1. How’d that doc. visit go? Did they hear a squeak?

  2. No squeak. He has a cold. I hang my head in shame. 🙂

  3. It is so, so, so hard to tell. I swear my kids will be near death and as soon as I get off the phone with the dr, they seem to instantly improve! You are not alone.

Leave a Reply

 
