Coming to terms

The boys got a chance to play outside yesterday.  Spring is coming!  Spring is coming!!  You know it’s been cold when 39 degrees feels absolutely wonderful. 

More and more I’m finding myself daydreaming about post-pregnancy and the running I’ll be able to do.  I never thought I’d be the type to daydream about running.  Of course, I never thought I’d be having a third child, either.  Note to self:  Be careful about saying “never”!

God has been using this pregnancy to teach me about control and reliance.  As hubby and I both struggled to get our minds around a third child and all that that entailed, I was forced to turn to God for comfort and strength.  For someone who is tempted to rely on herself or her husband more than she ought, that was a hard lesson.  Let me rephrase.  That IS a hard lesson.  I’ve also learned how little control I have over my own future.  My goodness, I don’t even have complete control over my own body — it’s been borrowed temporarily by an unexpected guest!  I’ve had to remind myself that while things happen in this life that are not part of my plan, they’ve always been part of God’s plan. 

While this has been a difficult journey, I realize that I’ve been coming to terms with a blessing.  I’ve been forced to acknowledge God’s sovereignty because he’s given me something good.  Will I be able to do the same if I lose something or someone I love?  I hope so.  In learning a lesson that has been difficult for me, I feel that God has been teaching me in a very gentle way.  For that I am thankful.

~ by NinjaPrincess on March 4, 2010.

One Response to “Coming to terms”

  1. I can def relate to you on this. And I too hope that in a negative situation, I could end with the same outcome.

Leave a Reply

 
