Worthy of My Praise

This is a post I’ve been looking forward to writing for a while.  While it’s been nine months in the making, it has very little to do with our new baby. 

When I first found I was pregnant, the H1N1 virus was big news.  Part of the news was that pregnant women were in one of the highest risk categories for respiratory complications from the flu and had a fairly high death rate from said complications.  In fact, the day we were planning on telling my parents that I was pregnant, my Dad was telling me about the risks to pregnant women.  “So, if you know anyone who’s pregnant, make sure they get the vaccine,” he said.  Ummm…. right, Dad.  If I know anyone who’s pregnant…

Long story short, I didn’t get the vaccine.  But I did request prayers from the elders at church, our small group, even our neighbors!  I didn’t get the swine flu. 

Then came the regular flu season.  It hit our city hard, and sometimes it seemed as if everyone we knew had someone sick in their family.  We kept praying.  I didn’t get the seasonal flu.

Then came colds.

Then came strep.

Then came stomach flu.

There were so many sicknesses and so many ill people.

How many times was I sick? 

None.

Zero.

Nada.

I have kids in school, and they got sick.  I have a husband who goes to work, and he got sick.  I cared for them, kissed them, drank after them.  I went to church.  I went to the mall.  I went to Wal-Mart.  (ew!)  There is no way I should have made it through these past nine months without so much as a sniffle. 

I am absolutely convinced that the reason I stayed so healthy is because God kept me that way.  That’s one of the reasons I’m so excited about God:  He isn’t just an impersonal, unknowable being out in space somewhere.  He’s interested in us and what is important to us.  He’s knowable, He answers prayers, and He loves us.  He’s worthy of praise because of what He’s done for me.  Even more than that, though, He’s worthy of praise simply because of who He is.  This is my feeble attempt to give Him some.

~ by NinjaPrincess on March 27, 2010.

3 Responses to “Worthy of My Praise”

  1. Where’s the “like” button??? 🙂

  2. How awesome to see God’s hand of providence protecting and caring for you and so clearly answering your prayers! I am so glad you had such a healthy pregnancy and delivery!

  3. Wow, wow, and wow again! Thanks for sharing that immense answer to prayer.

Leave a Reply

 
