Easter bunnies

I ran into Walmart a few days ago to buy a few things for the kids’ Easter baskets.  I was walking down the candy aisle looking for the traditional chocolate bunny, when I saw boxes of chocolate crosses.  I reached for them and picked up two, thinking that a cross was a more appropriate celebration of Easter than a chocolate bunny. 

But as I stood in the middle of the aisle, staring at the chocolate crosses in my hand, I began to wonder, “Is this what the cross has become?  Have we become so separated from it that we turn it into a chocolate bauble?”

I know I have no grasp of what Jesus endured on the cross.  Hugh Ross from Reasons to Believe has a theory about this.  He talks about God’s ability to access all moments of history at once.  He also points out that God is able to perform an infinite number of actions in a single point of time.  Therefore, he believes that while on the cross Jesus suffered an eternity in hell for each person that had ever lived.  In Hugh’s mind, it wasn’t just nine hours of torture on the cross and then three days in hell.  He believes it was much, much more.  I don’t know what happened during that time.  I know that somehow Jesus was able to atone for the sins of all mankind, and thinking about it in the way Hugh describes is certainly a sobering thought.  It helps me to put the cross in perspective.  Which is why I put the chocolate crosses back.

I walked a bit further down the aisle and grabbed two chocolate bunnies.  But somehow, as I walked away, that didn’t feel right either.

~ by NinjaPrincess on April 3, 2010.

2 Responses to “Easter bunnies”

  1. I just don’t know how I would feel biting into a cross!!! Then I wonder if I should even be wearing a cross as jewelry either. I would LOVE to get a cool “empty tomb” necklace. That seems more appropriate – and that’s a better celebration, because I don’t have my faith because Jesus dies( although I am thankful) but because He rose. So have you seen any “empty tomb” chocolates????

  2. Well, I have to confess. I bought chocolate crosses for my kids this year. Mainly b/c my son has been so upset anytime he sees anything Easter bunny related. He will say to any who will listen that the easter bunny has nothing to do with easter, easter is about Jesus dying on the cross and rising from the dead.

    I do see what you mean about trivializing the cross and it is a very valid point.

Leave a Reply

 
