Stuff

Does “stuff” make you naseous?  Do physical objects make you want to hurl?  No?  Perhaps I’m the only person this happens to.  Now, don’t get me wrong.  I enjoy getting a new somethin’ somethin’ now and again.  But the large influxes of stuff that we see at Christmas?  *shudder*

Each year around Christmas I get to the point where I cannot handle having one.  more.  toy.  enter the house.  About the time I’m recovering from my toy phobia, we hit Valentine’s Day.   The children receive Valentine’s presents.   Then comes Easter and Easter baskets. 

Let me pause to say that I’m so thankful for the people who love our kids and love to give to our kids.  Our children have no idea how blessed they are to have so many people who adore them.  And selfishly, I’m thankful that I don’t have to buy a lot of their clothes 🙂

Back to the rant….

By the time the boys’ birthdays roll around, I’ve pretty much had it with “stuff.”  This is why this year for their presents we’re giving them a fun weekend trip.  (Shh…don’t tell!  It’s a secret!)  This is also why we told them they wouldn’t be receiving gifts at the birthday party to which they invited their friends.

Wha?

It’s true.

We matter-of-factly told the kiddos that instead of receiving presents, they could choose a charity and ask each of their guests to bring a small donation.  One would think this would bring wailing and gnashing of teeth, but it didn’t.  We didn’t hear a single complaint. 

Today I took little man to the Red Cross to drop off his birthday money.  He raised over $80 dollars for the earthquake victims in Haiti and Chile!

This is our second year with no birthday presents at the “friend” party, and I think it will be our plan from now on.  The kiddos learn the fun of giving, good things get done, and I have that many fewer Transformers stuck in half robot, half vehicle mutant poses lying around the house. 

As Michael Scott would say, “It’s a win-win-win.”

~ by NinjaPrincess on April 30, 2010.

3 Responses to “Stuff”

  1. As they get older, the presents morph into smaller, more expensive items! We thought we’d give Nick some wings & some roots this year – he got a new bike & a phone. Responsibility & freedom. Garage & pocket. Nothing requiring a million little pieces!!! It’s all good! I like that you’re staring off the no present thing at a young age though! It’ll get their minds (and their friends’ minds) into thinking about helping others – I LIKE IT!!!!!!

    BTW – I think your eldest should choose ‘The Human Fund’. 😉

  2. haha — the human fund. I like it! Too many people have no Seinfeld background. Pretty soon, if I tell someone, “The dingo ate your bay-bee,” they’re going to think I’m very odd.

  3. Oops – sorry about the name drop! Thanks for editing!!! 😉

Leave a Reply

 
