First postpartum run

I started running in 2008 with the goal of running a 5K in the fall.  This was a somewhat ridiculous goal, since I hated running and couldn’t run a mile without stopping.  That summer I hurt my neck and then developed a wicked blister on my ankle.  No 5K.

In 2009 I did the couch-to-5K running plan and decided that I *gasp* liked running!  I worked up to being able to run 5K without stopping…and then I got pregnant.  No 5K again!

Yesterday I finally found the time to get out and take a short run.  It felt great!  Plans are in the works to start running with a running buddy.  (Woot!)  5K here I come!

P.S.  I tried to take a self-portrait to show my red face after the run, but I couldn’t bring myself to post any of the pictures.  It’s a good thing there are no mirrors on the running trail, or that would be the end of my running career.  There are other things on the trail:

  • a statue of a woman with flower pots where her bust would be
  • a ceramic pig
  • a live woman who makes disturbing noises in her gazebo

But no mirrors.

~ by NinjaPrincess on May 24, 2010.

2 Responses to “First postpartum run”

  1. I hate running. HATE it! I hope you get to do your 5K though – good for you!!!!

    You live in a strange area!!! If you want to go running by the trail by my house, I’d be happy to ride my bike alongside. That’s good incentive for ya, right? 😉

  2. Did you finally hear her? Can’t wait to start running with you.

Leave a comment