Justice

Inigo Montoya had an over-developed sense of vengeance. 

I have an over-developed sense of justice.

I’m finding that this sense of justice doesn’t jive too well with the Sermon on the Mount.

“Love your enemies…”
I’d rather love the lovable.

“…do good to those who hate you…”
I want to do good to those who will appreciate it.

“…bless those who curse you…”
No thanks.

“Give to everyone who asks you…”
I’m happy to give to those who deserve it.

Deserve.  That’s an interesting word.  Jesus said, “It is not the healthy who need a doctor, but the sick.  I have not come to call the righteous but sinners.”  He didn’t offer salvation to those who deserved it.  If He had, we’d all be out of luck. 

Also in the Sermon on the Mount is this:  “Do to others as you would have them do to you.”  I also need to do to others as was done to me.  I don’t deserve to be loved or to be blessed or to be forgiven, and yet that’s exactly what God has done.  I’m thankful He doesn’t hold me to the standards to which I hold others.  I’m thankful that He’s slowly changing me to be like Him.  Very slowly.  Painstakingly slowly… 🙂

~ by NinjaPrincess on May 28, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
