Goals

What are your goals for your kids?  Do your actions support your goals?  If you told a friend your highest wish for your children, would they say, “That makes sense” or would they blink in surprise?

What I want more than anything else for my children, what I pray for them most often is that they will know and love God and serve Him with their entire beings. 

I wish I could say that my interactions with them always furthered that goal.  Sometimes they do.  Sometimes I seize moments of conflict and see in them the teachable moment — the chance to gently guide them into a more Christ-like attitude.  But then there are the all-too-frequent moments where I choose angry words instead of quiet wisdom, when I react from frustration instead of mercy.

On one hand, I know that how hubby and I treat them and raise them has enormous implications for how they view God and how they think God views them.  On the other hand, I realize that nothing I can do will cause my children to follow God.  I can only pray that He will call them and pray that they will answer.

~ by NinjaPrincess on June 30, 2010.

One Response to “Goals”

  1. Good stuff. Stuff I’m also challenged with on a daily basis. As my kids get older, I also see the benefits of Godly adult friends who will also, hopefully, have a positive influence on my kids’ lives. Community!!!

Leave a Reply

 
