A friendly talk betwen an atheist and a Christian

Hubby and I and some friends went to see a discussion between an atheist and a Christian tonight.  It was refreshingly amicable — no name calling, no derogatory comments, and even uncomfortable topics were handled with respect. 

A few things that stuck out:

  • Debating is not profitable.  If there is a debate, there is a winner and a loser.  One cannot persuade an atheist to follow Christ by denigrating his beliefs. 

 

  • Speaking of persuasion…people don’t like being made into projects.  I don’t like it.  Atheists don’t like it.  I have friends who are atheists, and I hope they someday decide to follow Christ.  I’ve told them that.  However, I can’t do anything to make them come to that decision.  I hope if they ever feel like I see them as a project that they slap me.  I’d deserve it.

 

  • Atheists often see Christians in a negative light, especially when it comes to our intellect.  It was somewhat depressing to hear the words that spilled from the speaker when he was asked how atheists view Christians.  Anti-gay.  Anti-women.  Anti-science.  What does it say about us that we are defined by what we are against?  What does it say about us that we are largely viewed as unintelligent, uniformed, close-minded?  What does it say that a friendly discussion between an atheist and a Christian is rare?

Good stuff tonight!  I’ll have a lot to mull over in the coming days.

~ by NinjaPrincess on July 18, 2010.

One Response to “A friendly talk betwen an atheist and a Christian”

  1. Cool! Just saw an article about that in the paper & I thought of you & I was gonna send you the link – it’s awesome that you were actually there! Can’t wait to hear more about it!

Leave a Reply

 
