My worker bees

Last summer was not exactly pleasant.  We had activities planned (swimming and tee-ball), but we had no structure for the days we spent at home.  Too much unstructured time left the boys listless and whiny.  They got on each others’ nerves.  They fought.  A lot.

Having no desire to repeat this scenario, I entered this summer with a plan for our days, and I’ve noticed far less bickering.  That makes for a happy me!

Here’s our general schedule:

7:00 – 7:20 Get dressed and make bed

7:20 – 7:50 Breakfast, brush teeth

8:15 – 8:30 Bible Memorization

8:30 – 9:00 Bible Reading

9:00 – 9:30 Chores

12:00 – 12:30 Lunch

12:30 – 1:00 School work

1:00 – 1:30 Rest time

1:30 – 2:30 Electronics (computer or movie)

I like this schedule, because it gives them a lot of free time to play but also keeps us productive enough that I feel like we accomplished something each day.  We deviate from it frequently, sometimes abandoning it alltogether, sometimes only hitting part of it, but it’s always there to fall back on.  Because of this, my middle has memorized parts of the beatitudes, Prov 12:18, and is working on Philippians 4:4.  My eldest can say the beatitudes almost flawlessly.  Is this far from my initial goal of having them both memorize the entire Sermon on the Mount?  Ummm….yeah.  Am I okay with that?  Ummm….yeah 🙂

They’ve both made steady progress on their school work as well.  Middle has been working on making his hand-writing neater and has made it up to E.  Eldest has been working on multiplication facts and can do 0’s, 1’s, 2’s, 5’s, and almost has 9’s down.  Will we reach my initial goals of making it through the entire alphabet and knowing all the multiplication facts?  Not likely!    But compared to our progress last summer (nothing!), I’m happy with what we’ve done.

All that aside, my favorite part of this whole system is that during chore time one vacuums a room and the other cleans a bathroom sink.  I’ve literally stood in the middle of the living room and grinned in delight as my house seemed to clean itself.  Love it. 

~ by NinjaPrincess on July 23, 2010.

2 Responses to “My worker bees”

  1. Hey, if the boys run out of sinks to clean or floors to vacuum, I might be able to help 😉

  2. I like it!

Leave a Reply

 
