Bad dream

Dear son,

When you come into my room in the middle of the night with tears on your face and share that you’ve had a dream that a tornado was in our house, I promise to be empathetic.  I’ll give you a hug, reassure you, and gently tuck you back into bed.

When you come in the second time, I’ll be full of patience and understanding, because I have a recurring tornado dream, and I get ya, man.  I really do.

When you cry out from your room fifteen minutes later, I may sigh loudly as I get out of bed to check on you, but my voice will still be calm as I reassure you that there are no storms tonight and therefore no tornadoes.

But the fourth time I’m pulled from my bed?  On a night when I had gotten to sleep late because your sister had trouble falling asleep?  I won’t be patient.  I will be grouchy.  And I will somehow think that a conversation like this will help you fall asleep:

“Are there tornadoes coming tonight?”

“Well, my dream made me think…”

“Are there tornadoes coming tonight?”

“Well, my dream…”

“No.  Do not speak.  Are there tornadoes coming tonight?”

“Well, my dream…”

“Yes.  Or.  No.  Are there tornadoes coming tonight?”

“No.”

“Okay then.  Go to sleep.”

~ by NinjaPrincess on July 26, 2010.

2 Responses to “Bad dream”

  1. There was some strangeness going on last night. I blame the full moon. My kids were crazy all night, I woke up @ midnight to Dwight having a migraine & then 2 hours later Duke woke me up to go out & would not go back to sleep. I have had little sleep & I am grouchy too……I totally empathize w/you!!!!

  2. hee-hee.. this brought a smile to my face… oh how i can relate!

Leave a Reply

 
