Family-fest 2010

Every year my aunt & uncle host a party on their farm for our extended family.  It’s often the one time each year I get I get to see the aunts, uncles, & cousins that I used to see much more frequently.  I’ve been blessed with a fun, crazy group of relatives, and it’s always nice to visit.  Of course, visiting isn’t all we do.

We eat.  A lot.  (There was a kiddie pool full of ice and salad “fixin’s.” )

We play games and dance.  Of course, we always leave before the dancing starts so we can get the kids in bed before midnight.  They made it by 12:02 this time.  We were close! 

We make fools of ourselves.

We also take hay-rack rides. 

If you ignore the part where we were going up and down hills and the wagon was groaning in a frightening manner, I’d say the hay ride was my favorite part of the day.  The farm was once owned by my grandparents and was where my dad did most of his growing up.  We rode into the “back 40” where I spent many happy hours as a youngster exploring, playing in the creek, and riding 4-wheelers.  Something about being out there again made my soul feel peaceful. 

I wasn’t feeling so peacful on the ride home when baby girl cried on and off for 2 hours.  At one point I climbed into the middle seat with her and nursed her…while she was still in her carseat.  Desperate times, friends.  Desperate times.

~ by NinjaPrincess on August 8, 2010.

5 Responses to “Family-fest 2010”

  1. Are you some sort of contortionist? I am impressed!!! I love the picture of you on the mechanical bull – I think I want to add riding one of those to my bucket list – looks like fun!

  2. Ride ’em cowboy!! And on that last part – TMI!!!!

  3. Thanks so much for coming NinjaPrincess, Husband, and family. We loved meeting the new baby girl. She is a beautiful precious thing. Love the pictures.
    Love you all Aunt Nancy & Uncle Wally

  4. It’s so nice to have an extended family that is a joy to be with!

    Ah yes, I’ve done that car seat nursing thing, too. You’ve got to do what you’ve got to do.

  5. Sara — I’m glad I’m not the only one who’s done that! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
