Letting go

I’m less of a goal-setter than I am a list-checker-offer.  I have a general idea of where I want my life to go, but I rarely sit down and think of concrete goals, especially for the distant future.  My goals for the kiddos are probably the one exception to this.

If asked what my goals are for my marriage, I’d probably say, “I’d like us to grow closer together and uh…closer to God and uh….be nice.  Yeah.” 

My goals for myself in retirement are even more embarrassing.  It dawned on me today that when I envision my future it looks like this:  amass a lot of money so hubby and I can travel the world and I can shop at Talbots.  You think I’m kidding, eh?  Hey!  Those Talbot ladies are very fashionable! 

What frightens me is that the theme for this year has been giving up the plans we have for ourselves and embracing God’s plans for us.  What if God’s plans don’t involve a trip to Italy?  What if God’s plans involve…*gulp*…adoption?  What happens if I let God set my goals and they look drastically different from what I want?

~ by NinjaPrincess on August 16, 2010.

3 Responses to “Letting go”

  1. Then wonderful things can happen that you never could possibly imagine even in the most wild weird dream you have ever had. Eph. 3:20=21

  2. Are you serious??! I think we need to talk.

  3. Oooooh, so exciting!

Leave a Reply

 
