Check it off the list

Two summers ago I was inspired by a pair of bloggers (Sassy Pants and Sarah at Life in the Parsonage) to begin running.  To my knowledge, they don’t know each other and they don’t know me, but they certainly had a big impact on my life.  They had both decided to run a 5K, and they blogged about their training and the experience of running the race. 

As I would read their stories, I’d always think to myself, “I could NEVER do that.  Ugh.  There’s no way I could run 5K.”

After a while I got irritated with myself.  I don’t like people telling me what I can’t do, even if the person is myself, so I decided to follow the couch to 5K running plan.  My goal was to run a 5K without stopping.

Summer of 2008 I injured myself a couple of times and wasn’t able to make it to the 5K mark.

Summer of 2009 I was able to run 5K without stopping but became pregnant before I could participate in a race.

This summer I’ve been training with an awesome running buddy who helped push me to run faster and train on a fairly consistent basis.  She also taunted me frequently through text messages.  “2 miles in 22 minutes, sucka!  Beat that!”  Thanks to her…erm…gentle persuasion, I signed up for a race far earlier in the year than I had anticipated.

Today I finally did it!  Here we are crossing the finish line. 

We ran it without stopping, and our time was 33:50.  I’m happy with that.  My favorite part was seeing hubby and the boys cheering as we ran past.  The boys had made signs that said, “Go Mom” on them.

Don’t worry.  They’re keeping me humble.  Middle guy gave me a hug after the race and said, “Mom, what took you so long?”

~ by NinjaPrincess on September 18, 2010.

7 Responses to “Check it off the list”

  1. Oooh, I just blogged about the same thing. I didn’t link to you, but now I just might. And check out that lady behind me – the one who kept trying to get in front of me – she’s really bookin’!

    And as far as that text you quote. I’m not sure I really said that – did you save the evidence?!

    Thanks for doing this with me. I know I couldn’t have done it without you.

  2. Awesome job ladies!!! No stopping??? I am WAY impressed!

  3. Awesome Job NinjaPrincess. Love your attitude.

  4. I’m so proud of you!! And getting pregnant before a race…sounds familiar 🙂 It’s one way to get outta racing 😉

    blogging is such a crazy-cool thing…getting to inspire and challenge one another. Thanks so much for inspiring me today!

  5. I love blogs that inspire! How cool to have your family cheering you on as you tackle the 5K. I, for one, am impressed.

  6. I am so happy for you!! I had no time goal, just finishing without stopping. That probably made me a little a slower in the long run…I’ll never forget being passed by sprinting 60 year olds, but oh well. Congratulations!!! Do you think you’ll keep the running up?

Leave a Reply

 
