We are skunk people

My life recently:

Middle dude played soccer today and scored his first two goals of the season.  When we got home, we discovered that his shoes were on the wrong feet.  I think we may be on to something.

Coming home from open house at school this week, we ran over a skunk and it deposited its vileness all over the van.  The windows were all closed, but somehow the stink got inside the van.  Here’s the bad part:  we think it got on us.  That first night hubby thought he could smell it on our clothes.  Now, even though the van still stinks, we don’t think we smell skunky anymore, but what if we do?  What if we’re just used to the scent now?  Who’s going to tell you if you smell like a skunk?  No one.  I don’t want to be a skunk person.  😦  Sadly, I don’t think I have much of a choice.  Let me tell you why.

I was telling the skunk story to my parents, and Dad told me this gem about my grandpa.  Back in the days of the Depression, skunk pelts would sell for 25 cents a piece.  That was big money back then.  Grandpa and his brothers would go skunk hunting, but Great-Grandpa was too poor to give them any bullets.  So they had to club the skunks. 

With clubs. 

Skunks.

This is my heritage. 

We are skunk people.

~ by NinjaPrincess on September 25, 2010.

7 Responses to “We are skunk people”

  1. I’ll still hang out with you. Well, when you no longer smell that is. Next week, please!

  2. Well, you didn’t smell when we were over the other day. 🙂

  3. That is hilarious!

  4. First, “Way to go, Middle Dude!!!”

    Second, Bwahahahahahahahahahahahahaha!!! But, in all honesty, I don’t smell you at all from where I am. 🙂

  5. oh my… this is SO VERY VERY funny!

  6. WE my dear NEED to “WRITE” !! LOVE hearing /Reading from you !!!

  7. OK…I meant YOU my dear friend NOT WE !!!! NOt WE! NOT … WE!! YOU ! You ! YOu !!

Leave a Reply

 
