An unceremonious ending

Baby girl contracted RSV last week and is finally (9 days later) starting to feel better.  The third day of her sickness, when she was absolutely miserable, she suddenly refused to nurse.  It was scary, because I was worried about dehydration, but thankfully we found that she enjoys grape pedialyte 🙂

I thought that she’d start to nurse again once her throat felt better.  She didn’t.  I thought that she’d start to nurse again once she started to recover.  She isn’t.  Now I think we might be done nursing for good.  The irony of this is that, unlike when nursing my boys, I was willing to nurse her for quite a while still.  With the boys I was ready to be done when they hit a year, and we started the weaning process the moment they reached that milestone.  Knowing that this is my last baby and wanting to savor every bit of baby time, I was envisioning nursing her well into her second year.  Ha. 

So now it appears I’m done nursing forever, and I’m working through a lot of mixed emotions.  Part of me is sad, realizing that that part of my life is over.  Part of me is cautiously excited about my new-found freedom.  And honestly, part of me is feeling a little rejected. 

Also, she’s graciously shared her virus with me, so I, too, have RSV.  This would be funny if my throat didn’t hurt so much.  🙂

~ by NinjaPrincess on February 27, 2011.

3 Responses to “An unceremonious ending”

  1. Glad she’s feeling better. Sorry to hear that you’re sick now though. And sorry you no longer get to nurse. Wish I could say something to make you feel better. One of these days/weeks/months maybe we can get together.

  2. Sorry to hear that you’re sick now, but glad that baby girl has been feeling better. I understand the mixed emotions about your baby. I still get them. Just don’t watch ‘The Baby Story’ on TV w/o a kleenex!!! That’s what I do!

  3. Unceremonious ending….what a great title for what may be the last post to your blog! At least that what it looks like since you haven’t posted in well over a month. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
