Lovin’ Logic

I’ve never given much thought to logic.  I didn’t take any logic classes in college and felt sorry for my friends who did.  Just reading the papers they wrote on Kant and Nietzsche convinced me I wanted nothing to do with the subject.  Recently, though, I’ve been reading a book by Ken Samples called Seven Truths That Changed The World, and I’ve been fascinated by how he applies the laws of logic to Christianity.

I’ve always disagreed with the idea that all religions lead to the same place and that we should just live and let live.  I’ve never been able to offer a coherent reason why, though, other than “I know Christianity is true.”  Samples has introduced me to the laws of thought (Aristotle) and has demonstrated how to logically compare the world’s religions.

The three laws of thought are
1.  the law of identity (A = A)
2.  the law of noncontradiction
3.  the law of excluded middle

The law of noncontradiction states that A cannot equal A and equal non-A at the same time and in the same respect.  For example, I cannot be both a mother and not a mother at the same time and in the same respect.

The law of excluded middle says that A is either A or non-A.  I am either a mother or I am not.

Consider how these laws help us think about world religions.  Christianity claims Christ is God.  Islam claims Christ is not God.  Christ cannot be both God and not God at the same time in the same way.  Either Christianity is true, Islam is true, or they are both false.  They cannot both be true, because they make opposing truth claims.

Judaism claims Christ is not God.  Christianity claims Christ is God.  Christ is either God or not God.  There is no middle ground.  Again, both religions cannot be true.

What does it mean that Hinduism claims there are many Gods, but Christianity claims there is only one God?  If both claims cannot be true, what implications does that have for the believers of these faiths?

It does not seem tolerant to claim that one belief is superior to another or to claim that one faith is the true faith.  And yet, humans long to believe what is true.  Our hearts cannot accept what our minds know is false (Galileo).  When we are able to logically show that all religions are not equal truthfully speaking, we can open conversations in which we examine the truth claims of the major religions and evaluate which can be verified or falsified.

(These ideas are a general paraphrasing of the information I learned in Samples’ book.  They aren’t direct quotes, but I give full credit to Samples for the ideas and information.)

~ by NinjaPrincess on June 3, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
